Early Years Foundation

We are OFSTED registered and work within the Government’s National Day Care Standards following the Early Years Foundation Stage set down by the Department for Education.


The EYFS sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five.  It creates the framework for partnership work between parents and professionals, laying a secure foundation for learning.


Effective practice in EYFS is built on four guiding themes. These are:


A Unique Child; recognises that every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.  The commitments are focussed around development, inclusion, safety, health and wellbeing.


Positive Relationships; describes how children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and important people in their lives.  The commitments are focussed around respect, partnership with parents, supporting learning and the roles of people close to them.

Enabling Environments; explains that the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.  The commitments are focussed around observation, assessment, planning and support for every child.

Learning and Development; recognises that children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and that all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected.

The Early Learning Goals for each of the six areas of learning and development are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication, Language and Literacy
  • Problem solving, reasoning and numeracy
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Creative development

The above areas of learning will be covered within the experiences and activities that will be on offer to your child through play and fun!!